

THE DAVIS CUP COMPETITION

The Davis Cup is named after the American Dwight Davis, who founded the competition in 1900 as a way to use tennis to develop international cooperation. From two countries in 1900, the Davis Cup has grown to a record 142 countries in 2001. It is one of the most popular tennis events internationally with the continued support of the world's biggest names in tennis.

Each year, sixteen nations compete in the elite World Group with the aim of becoming the Davis Cup Champion Nation. The other countries compete within their geographical regions seeking promotion with the ultimate aim being the World Group.

Each tie lasts 3 days and consists of four singles matches and one double match, best-of-five sets.

For 2003, the Davis Cup World Group schedule is as follows:

1st round: February 7th – 9th
Quarterfinals: April 4th – 6th

Semifinals and World Group Qualifying: September 19th – 21st Final: November 28th – 30th

The ITF (International Tennis Federation), the governing body of world tennis, is the owner and guardian of the more than 100 year old Davis Cup. The other sporting events also organized by the ITF include the Fed Cup, the Olympic Tennis Event, men's and women's professional tennis tournaments, junior tennis tournaments, including the Junior Working Ranking tournament, Wheelchair Tennis, and seniors tennis tournaments.